It Is Well


Contemporary praise & worship songs are awesome for helping us to get in tune with God. However, I notice, that in times of sorrow and the need for comfort, we turn to the old hymns – at least I do. There aren’t enough words to even begin to explain the depth of comfort and peace those old hymns bring.

Earlier this week, someone who has had a HUGE impact on my faith journey went home to meet Jesus face to face. While we are saddened here on earth because we will miss the beautiful person Nancy was, we take comfort in known where she is now. It brings to mind the hymn, It Is Well.

If there is one song that is guaranteed to make me cry every single time I hear it, it’s the hymn It Is Well. The story behind this song is absolutely amazing. That alone would bring anyone to tears. However, it’s when we look closely at the words and they deeply resonate with our own lives that we are able to be moved to tears from the depths of our hearts.

When peace like a river, attendeth my way. When sorrows like sea billows roll. Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul.

Often times when we picture serene, peaceful settings, we picture a river. Peace comes out way like a river. At the same time, sorrows roll in like sea billows. Our lives are a constant battle of peace and sorrow. Some people see more peace and others more sorrow. Regardless of what comes, it is well with my soul BECAUSE I know Jesus. I have hope. I have faith. Romans 8:28 tells us that we know all things work together for good… Paul doesn’t say some things, only good things, only positive things, but rather ALL things. The good and the bad. 


I’ve been handed my share of hardships and sorrows, but I know that God will make them work together for good according to his purpose. I find myself constantly asking God to reveal that purpose to me. My control freak nature really wants to know what, how, & why God is going to use those things.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come, let this blesssed assurance control, that Christ has regarded my helpless estate, and hath shed his own blood for my soul.

Buffet – not the food line – means a blow especially with the hand or something that strikes with telling force. Satan sure does buffet us, time & time again. It’s in those times that we need to hold strong to our faith. Our faith in Jesus is our blessed assurance. Jesus suffered and endured so much more than we could imagine when he was crucified. Although Satan tries & tries to bring us down, he has already been defeated by Jesus’ death on the cross and resurrection. That’s good news! Now we have a job to do. That job is to tell others the good news! That starts at home be being disciple makers in our own families.

My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought! My sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, praise the Lord, praise the Lord, oh my soul!

The good news! Jesus died for us so that we can have eternal life (John 3:16). For those of us with eternal hope because of our faith in Jesus, when we physically die, our souls will still go on to live with Jesus. How awesome is that? Jesus didn’t die for just some of our sins, but all of them. He is our great redeemer. 

When I think of Jesus on the cross, I picture him seeing all of my sins flash before his eyes, as well as all the sins – past, present, & future – of the world. He continued to put a heavier burden every moment he was on that cross. Because of his willingness to take on that burden, we have hope. We have a responsibility to share that hope. 

My sins are no less greater than anyone else’s sins. Sin is sin. Jesus paid it all on that cross. Praise the King! He is risen! Death has been defeated. Let’s shout this story from the rooftops!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll; the trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend, even so it is well with my soul. 

Jesus is coming back, my friends. As I look at the state of our world today, I often find myself wondering how bad was it in Noah’s day that God destroyed the earth with a flood because of its wickedness. Culture is dictating the church and how Christians should act. I find myself looking forward to Jesus’ return more and more each day. The day I get to meet my Savior face to face will be a glorious day, indeed. 

I am so grateful for my faith. I cling to it so tightly. I’ve experienced things here on earth that should have killed me (literally killed me), but I know God must have a plan to use the terrible times for good. I am excited to have hope in Jesus because without it, this world would be a dark and lonely place. It IS well with my soul!

This entry was posted in Family Ministry, Ministry, Personal Faith Journey, Spiritual Warfare, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

