Hope for 2017

I decided to pick a word for 2017. I know a lot of people do this each year, but this is the first time I am doing this. I’ve chosen the word “HOPE“. I feel that this is a word that God is placing on my heart for the new year.

I always have hope, but there is something different about facing 2017 with hope – a different kind of hope. Through 2017, I might reveal more of my personal faith journey. God has me traveling paths I never imagined. There’s a lot of uncertainty, but I can honestly say I have hope.

January 1, 2017 is my last day serving in my current church. My position is being eliminated due to budget restraints. I start 2017 without a job, with student loan payments starting again, a missions trip to Haiti, a long-planned long weekend with some girlfriends from high school, and the need of a new car. I am continuing my journey of healing that I’ve been on. I am now done with grad school. There’s so much uncertainty but I am full of hope. 

Jesus gives us hope, even when the situation feels hopeless. Our hope is the anchor that holds us sure & steadfast (Hebrews 6:19).


I have hope, in the midst of so much uncertainty, that God has big things in store for me and for my ministry. I pray for you, my friends, that you have God’s hope filling you. I pray that God will bestow countless blessings upon you in the coming new year. 

This entry was posted in Ministry, Personal Faith Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

