Serving Jesus Off The Grid

It’s 5:15 AM – on a Saturday – and I’m sitting in an airport. I am anxiously waiting to board a plane headed for Haiti, where I will be serving Jesus off the grid for the next week. I am excited to be in a place where I will have to be completely and fully reliant on God to get me through. I’m in a place, in my faith journey, where I NEED this experience. 

We will be taking a series of connecting flights before landing in Port-au-Prince. I tend to get some serious travel anxiety. It all stared yesterday when our first flight was cancelled because of weather. Thankfully we found it a day ahead of time so our flights can be rearranged. Then the shooting at the Fort Lauderdale airport happened. This is where our last connecting flight is. To say I’m anxious is a serious understatement. I attempted to sleep last night but tossed and turned all night and got just 90 minutes of sleep. Caffeine is a must for me today. I spent my sleeplessness in prayer and even used the Bible app on my phone to cast all my anxieties on Him. 


Once we land in Port-au-Prince, we will be picked up and taken to the guest house. We will have no access to internet, tv, etc. We will be completely off the grid. I am OK with that (except that I won’t see how the Seahawks do tonight). I am going to have to be completely dependent on God. 

Going on this missions trip is putting me out of my comfort zone completely. On Monday, we will start our task at hand. We will be building 12×12 tin homes for Haitians who are still living in tents from the 2010 earthquake. If you know me, you know that this is so far out of my comfort zone that it’s not funny.

I need this trip. I need this time to draw closer to God. With my renewed sense of hope in 2017, this is the perfect way to way to kick off the year. As I started preparing myself for this trip, I started realizing how much I am craving a situation like this – being totally dependent on God. 

A Facebook friend of mine posed a question the other along the lines of would you blindly follow God’s call no matter what it means you’re giving up or doing? I feel like I’m in that situation. I’m in job limbo. Let me confess, the day I found out my job was being eliminated, I was prepared to hand in my resignation without any kind of plan. I was concerned about this trip and my upcoming girlcation in a couple weeks. I think, no, I believe that God saw I was going to be obedient to His call and blessed me in ways I can’t even begin to imagine. With the elimination came a severance deal. God is still providing for my family. A week and a half later, I got a call to interview at another church. 

Being in a country where I know very little to none of the language and doing construction where I have no access to my husband, my friends, the outside world is following God blindly. I am really excited about that. 

As I was tossing and trunning, the song is Oceans came to mind. You call me out upon the waters, the great unknown where feet may fail…..Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders….wherever you would call me. This week, God has called me to serve him off the grid. It will be a nice break from electronics, the news, all the hate and pain we see everyday in our first world problems. I love this song and I sing it as a prayer. How often do we sing it without really thinking about the words or meaning what we are singing? I want God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit to lead me to a place where I MUST fully trust and rely on Him. As a person with some serious trust issues, this is a huge leap for me. 

I’m looking forward to seeing how God is going to use me, grow me, and what He is going to show me while I’m in Haiti. I ask that you pray for our team of 9 as we travel, that our hearts would be open and receptive to the Holy Spirit, as well as for the Haitians we will be ministering to. I hope you get an opportunity to do a missions trip where you are completely off the grid and you have to wholly trust Jesus. 

This entry was posted in Listening, Ministry, Personal Faith Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

